Most awarded record producers of the 2000s

Williams won several Grammys in all three of those years. He also won the 2003 award for best pop vocal album for the co-production of Justin Timberlake’s solo debut Justified; the 2013 album of the year award for co-production of Daft Punk’s Random Access Best regards (and two more awards for his hit “Get Lucky”); and the 2018 award for best pop vocal album for co-production by Ariana Grande Sweetener.

Rick Rubin and Greg Kurstin are runners-up, with two wins each for producer of the year, not a classic since 2000. Rubin won the 2006 and 2008 awards. Kurstin won the 2016 and 2017 awards. Kurstin was the first producer to win consecutive awards in this category since Babyface won three years in a row: 1995-97.

Interestingly, Rubin produced or co-produced three of the nominees for the 2006 album: The Chicks’ Dam the Long way to go (who won), Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Arcadium Stadium, and Timberlake’s second album, FutureSex/Sounds of love. (And he returned when there were only five nominees in the category.) Rubin was the sole producer of The Chicks and the Peppers albums and was one of five producers on Timberlake’s opus. Rubin won four more Grammys that year.

Kurstin won three more Grammys (album, album and song of the year) at the 2016 Awards for his work on Adele’s 25.

Dre, T Bone Burnett, Arif Mardin, Chad Hugo (Williams partner in The Neptunes), John Shanks, Steve Lillywhite, Mark Ronson, Brendan O Brien, Danger Mouse, Paul Epworth, Dan Auerbach, Max Martin, Jeff Bhasker, Finneas and Andrew Watt.

No producer has ever won in this category, which was nominated for the 1974 awards. (Thom Bell was the inaugural winner.) Since 2000, two female producers have been nominated: Lauren Christy, who shared the weekend with Graham Edwards and Scott Spock (as The Matrix) and Linda Perry, who received in 2018. Perry was the first woman to receive a gesture alone in this category from Sheryl Crow and Lauryn Hill, who were nominated for the 1998 awards.

These are the producers who have garnered the most Grammy nominations for producer of the year, not classics since 2000:

Six nods:

Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis (plus five head gestures before 2000; the total of 11 head gestures is the highest for any producer in the history of this category)

Five head gestures:

Danger Mouse, Nigel Godrich

Four nods:

Pharrell Williams, Greg Kurstin, T Bone Burnett

Three nods:

Dan Auerbach, Larry Klein, Dr. Dre, Rob Cavallo (plus two more gestures before 2000), Rick Rubin (plus two gestures before 2000)

Two assents:

Dave Cobb, Jack Antonoff, Ricky Reed, John Hill, Blake Mills, Max Martin, Jeff Bhasker, Diplo, Paul Epworth, Dr. Luke, The Smeezingtons,, Howard Benson, Chad Hugo

These are the best winners in the producer category in four other awards:

ACM Awards

Jay Joyce has won this award (which was presented in 2003) five times, more than anyone. Dann Huff is runner-up, with three wins. Tony Brown and Dave Cobb have won twice.

The producers who have won once are James Stroud, Buddy Cannon, Mark Wright, Paul Worley, Frank Liddell and Busbee. The latter producer won after his untimely death in September 2019.

BET Hip Hop Awards

Kanye West, DJ Mustard and Metro Boomin have twice won this award (which was introduced in 2006). West won in 2009 and 2012. The victories for DJ Mustard and Metro Boomin were consecutive, in 2014-15 and 2016-17, respectively.

Producers who have won once in the category are Jermaine Dupri, Timbaland, Akon, Swizz Beatz, Lex Lugar, Mike Will Made-It, Pharrell Williams, DJ Khaled and Hit-Boy.

IHeartRadio Music Awards

No producer has won this award (which was introduced in 2017) twice. Benny Blanco, Andrew Watt, Louis Bell, Finneas and Max Martin have won once.

Juno Awards

Bob Rock and Daniel Lanois have won the Producer of the Year three times three times since 2000 at the Canadian First Prize. Brian Howes has won twice.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *