Peabody Awards for Recognizing Success in Interactive and Immersive Narratives: The Hollywood Reporter

The Peabody Awards announced on Tuesday the expansion of its award categories to include storytelling successes in interactive, immersive and new media categories.

Gaming, virtual and augmented reality, social video, interactive journalism, interactive documentary and transmedia storytelling are some of the formats to be recognized.

“The basis of the Peabody Awards is to honor the stories that matter. There are meaningful and incredibly creative narratives beyond the inherited media before our eyes. New storytelling techniques and technological advances are overstepping the boundaries of traditional media, “Jeffrey Jones, Peabody’s chief executive, said in a statement.

“Creators are pioneers in new methods of telling powerful stories and reaching new audiences, and the achievements are extraordinary,” he continued. “With the introduction of interactive media as our own distinctive category, we are delighted to recognize innovative and important narratives in these digital spaces.”

In order to identify exemplary projects of this type, a group of ten members of the jury, known as the Peabody Interactive Board, have been appointed, including the veteran of the gaming industry, Amy Hennig, who created the series of action-adventure. Without exploring and is now president of Skydance Media’s new media division.

Film producer Diana Williams, who runs Kinetic Energy Entertainment and is a former LucasFilm executive, will serve as chair of the board. Members include Lars Bastholm, creative director of Story House Egmont; writer and producer Jay Bushman; Aymar Jean Christian, scholar and co-founder of the Open Television research project; Katerina Cizek, artistic director and co-founder of Co-Creation Studio at the MIT Open Documentary Lab; Al Shaw, editor of news applications at ProPublica; Kamal Sinclair, executive director of the Guild of Future Architects; Sara Thacher, Creative Director and Senior R&D Imagineer at Walt Disney Engineering; and Lance Weiler, co-founder and director of the Digital Story Lab at Columbia University School of the Arts.

“We believe shocking stories can come from anywhere, in new and evolving ways that push the boundaries of our understanding of how to tell stories,” Williams said. “This expansion of the Peabody Awards recognizes the variety of storytelling media and narrators who strive to move technology and its audience to new spaces. Our newly minted board is well equipped and has the honor of first getting to know the daring projects of these collaborators ”.

Winners of the awards will be announced later this year at a separate event from the traditional ceremony, along with details on the submission schedule and eligibility requirements.

The Peabody Awards were founded in 1940 at Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia and honor projects in entertainment, documentaries, news, podcasts and radio, arts, children and youth, public service, and multimedia programming.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *